Welcome

Greene Acres Community Garden is located on the corner of Franklin and Greene Avenues in Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn. The Garden has also been known as Frank Greene Garden, Franklin Avenue Community Center, Sunflower Garden for People, Revolutionary Garden Workers Collective, and, not long ago, the Empty Lot on the Corner.

Chicken yard fundraiser!

We're adding a second coop for the chickens and rebuilding their yard. Please help make our ladies a nice new home before winter by supporting our Ioby fundraiser, A Yard for the Yard Birds.

September: felting workshop and Buster Bailey Day

Please join us: Friday, September 5 from 5:30-8:30pm for a felting workshop with artist-in-residence Brigitta Varadi; and Saturday, September 6 at 2pm for Buster Bailey Day, a commemorative jazz concert and BBQ. Free and open to all.

The next meeting is Monday, September 8 at 7pm, the next work day Saturday, September 13 from 11-3pm.

Opening party and workshop with resident artist Brigitta Varadi

On August 25, our artist-in-residence Brigitta Varadi will install SEEDS FABRICATED. Inspired by the garden, her large textile sculptures draw from natural dyeing and traditional Mongolian felting techniques. Please come to the opening party, Wednesday August 27, from 6-9pm in the garden. Brigitta will also lead a felting workshop in the garden on Friday, September 5, 5:30-8:30pm (RSVP here.) Both events are free and open to all.

August and September: save the dates

Please note garden dates for this busy late summer:

Monday, August 11: Meeting at 7pm in the garden (or downstairs at the Bed-Stuy YMCA in case of rain)
Saturday, August 16: Work day, 11-3
Sunday, August 17: Indigo dyeing party with Sewing Seeds, 3-6pm (register here)
Wednesday, August 20: Natural dye workshop: Enliven Your Senses, 6-7pm Workshop canceled.
Wednesday, August 27: Opening party for artist-in-residence Brigitta Varadi, 6-9pm. Register here.
Thursday, August 28: Shadow puppet show with Charlotte Gaspard, 7:30pm.

August 1 lock change (distribution cancelled July 20)

On August 1 we will change the lock on the Greene Avenue gate. Members in good standing who have worked and paid dues may collect a new key

-Monday, July 14 7pm at the meeting
-Saturday, July 19 at the work day
-At any composting work day.
-Wednesday, July 24 from 6-8 (during the indigo workshop)
-Thursday, July 30 from 5-7
-More dates to be announced as needed.

July meeting and work day

The next meeting is Monday, July 14 at 7pm in the garden (in case of rain, downstairs at the YMCA at 1211 Bedford Av). We will distribute new keys to members in good standing and vote on a membership freeze. The next work day is Saturday, July 19 from 11-3pm.

June: save the dates

After the block party June 7, we have a meeting Monday, June 9 at 7pm in the garden. The next work day is Saturday, June 14 from 11 to 3. We will host a weed identification and compost workshop on Tuesday, June 24 from 6-8pm. All are welcome.

Block party! Saturday, June 7

Our annual block party is Saturday, June 7 starting at 11am. Franklin Avenue will be closed to traffic; neighbors, please move your cars by 9am.

World Book Night: Wednesday, May 14

World Book Night has been rescheduled for 7pm on Wednesday, May 14. The garden gave out Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire to City Tech students to celebrate the love of reading and International Book Day. On May 14, the students will meet in the garden to discuss the book and see what we're growing.

Watch the free PBS special to learn more about The Botany of Desire. Here's the happy group with their books: